From:

XXXXXXXXXX


December 29, 2004


Network Solutions
13200 Woodland Park Dr
Herndon, Va 20171

RE: DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM

Fax: 703-668-5959

 

Sir or Madam:

Network Solutions is listed as the registrar for DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM, which is involved in a SCAM, Internet abuse and their contact phone number >> 603-664-5777 << is bogus.

I noticed that my computer's home page was changed to DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM without my permission or knowledge of how it happened. Our browsers are normally MSN.COM and I had never even heard of DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK. When I'd change it back to MSN, it would them keep changing back to DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM. This web site had a ad on it which was telling me my computer had a virus and to remove it, I needed to buy SPY WIPER software to get rid of it.  

I did some investigating and found that my computer did indeed have a virus caused by DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM. There are posts from angry people all over the internet about how their computer had been hijacked and DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM's web site had changed their default home page without their knowledge or permission. The default page which kept appearing on my computer is: http://default-homepage-network.com/index6.html . Some of the posts I read recommend that you do not click that link as it may infect your computer.

The object is to get people to click this link - https://www.mailwiper.com/cgi-bin/a.pl?mailwipr&2929&order2.html and to buy SPY WIPER. The company who owns SPY WIPER software is Eskrawl Inc, (AKA Mailwiper Inc), 905 Roberts Landing, Atlanta, GA 30350, Phone: 770-518-1519 - E-mail: postmaster@mailwiper.com

I was able to get rid of DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM by downloading a free copy of Ad-Aware from Lavasoftusa.com

Here are some of the articles about this SPY WIPER scam; http://patterico.blogspot.com/2003_11_01_patterico_archive.html#106992194986561187

Here's another: http://tommytrojan.blogspot.com/2003_11_23_tommytrojan_archive.html#106969957540138115

Here’s more info; http://www.whitis.com/mailwiper.htm

The Center for Democracy and Technology has filed complaints against DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM to the Federal Trade Commission. Here's an article http://patterico.com/archives/001947.php

Read this article about how the FTC has "filed a lawsuit to halt an alleged spyware distributor from surreptitiously installing software on users' computers and then trying to induce them to purchase anti-spyware products" http://news.com.com/FTC+takes+aim+at+alleged+spyware+distributor/2100-7350_3-5403438.html


DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM's contact info is:

Registrant:
Seismic Entertainment Productions, Inc. (MPPTIHLLQD)
11 Farmington Road
Rochester, NH 03867

Domain Name: DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM

Administrative Contact:
Cayer, Mike (35890037P) admin@default-homepage-network.com
Seismic Entertainment Productions, Inc.
11 Farmington Road
Rochester, NH 03867
603-664-5777

Technical Contact:

Network Solutions, LLC. (HOST-ORG) customerservice@networksolutions.com
13200 Woodland Park Drive
Herndon, VA 20171-3025
1-888-642-9675 fax: 571-434-4620
Record expires on 16-Sep-2006.
Record created on 16-Sep-2003.
Database last updated on 29-Dec-2004 13:24:04 EST.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS59.WORLDNIC.COM 216.168.228.32
NS60.WORLDNIC.COM 216.168.225.200

This is an outrageous SCAM and DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM’s domain should be shut down and terminated for internet abuse. DEFAULT-HOMEPAGE-NETWORK.COM is menace to the public.

Also, having bogus / false contact info is a violation of ICANN regulations which can result in termination of a domain name. As the registrar, it is your duty to enforce ICANN Regulations.

Sincerely,

xxxxxxxx